Kelly Hannon 540-374-3344


Jan. 21, 2014

Motorists are encountering some roads with snow-covered sections for their evening commute

FREDERICKSBURG – Roads in the Fredericksburg District are currently in clear to minor condition this afternoon, with snow accumulation starting to partially cover roadways.


Conditions can change quickly, and motorists are encourages to check 511Virginia for the latest road conditions before starting a trip. Call 511, visit, or use VDOT’s 511Virginia free mobile app to find real-time road conditions in any area of the state.


In the Fredericksburg area, portions of Interstate 95 and Route 1 are in minor condition. Route 3, Route 17 and Route 218 are in minor condition in Stafford County, and Route 2, 3, 17 and 208 in Spotsylvania County are in minor condition.


Most primary roads in the Northern Neck are clear, with light snow falling. Motorists will encounter minor road conditions on secondary roads in King George, and on primary roads in the Oak Grove area of Westmoreland County.


Primary roads in the Middle Peninsula are currently clear.


A complete list of real-time road conditions can be found at


VDOT crews remain at work with nearly 600 pieces of equipment across the district to plow roads, and to spread sand and salt to give motorists additional traction, and to help melt ice.


Once it begins to snow in their area, motorists are encouraged to delay travel, if possible.


VDOT’s goal is to have all roads passable within 48 hours of a storm’s end. Roads carrying the heaviest amount of traffic are cleared first, such as interstates, primary roads, and key secondary roads that connect employment centers and public safety facilities. Once these roads are clear, VDOT plows subdivision streets and low-volume secondary roads.


VDOT crews will remain at work 24 hours a day, working in 12-hour shifts, until all roads are clear and safe for travel.


VDOT’s Customer Service Center is open 24 hours a day to answer questions and take reports of roadway hazards at 1-800-FOR-ROAD (800-367-7623).




VDOT’s 14-county Fredericksburg District includes the counties of Caroline, King George, Spotsylvania and Stafford in the Fredericksburg area; Northumberland, Richmond, Lancaster and Westmoreland counties in the Northern Neck; Essex, Gloucester, King & Queen, King William, Mathews and Middlesex counties in the Middle Peninsula.

Information in VDOT news releases was accurate at the time the release was published. For the most current information about projects or programs, please visit the project or program Web pages. You may find those by searching by keyword in the search Virginia DOT box above.

Page last modified: Jan. 21, 2014