Kelly Hannon 540-374-3344


April 10, 2017

Eastbound Harrison Road traffic, west of Route 1, will move onto new pavement on Wednesday, April 12

FREDERICKSBURG – Drivers on Route 620 (Harrison Road) in Spotsylvania County should be alert for a new traffic pattern starting Wednesday, April 12, in the intersection improvement project work zone.

Eastbound Harrison Road traffic, west of Route 1, will be shifted slightly right onto new pavement shortly after 2 p.m. Wednesday.

Motorists should stay alert for brief traffic stops over a 30-minute period as eastbound traffic is transitioned onto new pavement.

Westbound Harrison Road traffic will not be affected. Westbound Harrison Road traffic will continue traveling in the existing westbound lane.

Message boards have been posted in the work zone to notify drivers of the upcoming traffic shift.

If weather conditions cancel the traffic shift on Wednesday, it will be re-scheduled to occur at approximately 2 p.m. on Thursday, April 13.

Eastbound Harrison Road traffic is shifting to provide space for crews to build a new median dividing eastbound and westbound Harrison Road traffic.

Route 1 and Harrison Road Intersection Improvement Project

The $22 million intersection improvement project at Route 1 and Harrison Road seeks to reduce congestion and driver delay by building additional turn lanes and through lanes, and extending existing turn lanes.

Sidewalks and new lighting will be added at the intersection. The project will also upgrade traffic signal equipment to include pedestrian crossing features.

Construction began in May 2016 and will be completed in May 2018.

An estimated 24,600 vehicles a day travel through the intersection, according to a 2015 VDOT traffic count.


Motorists can find real-time information on work zones, traffic, incidents and lane closures on 511Virginia.

Download the  free mobile 511Virginia app for Apple and Android devices to stay connected, or visit Motorists also can reach 511Virginia by calling 511 from any phone in Virginia.


VDOT’s 14-county Fredericksburg District includes the counties of Caroline, King George, Spotsylvania and Stafford in the Fredericksburg area; Northumberland, Richmond, Lancaster and Westmoreland counties in the Northern Neck; Essex, Gloucester, King & Queen, King William, Mathews and Middlesex counties in the Middle Peninsula.

Information in VDOT news releases was accurate at the time the release was published. For the most current information about projects or programs, please visit the project or program Web pages. You may find those by searching by keyword in the search Virginia DOT box above.

Page last modified: Feb. 4, 2019