IMMEDIATE - 12:00 p.m.

Kelly Hannon 540-374-3344


Feb. 13, 2017

Work zone setup will begin at 7 a.m. Tuesday, Feb. 14 to reduce commuter delays on Route 3 during peak morning travel period

FREDERICKSBURG – Route 3 traffic crossing the Robert O. Norris Bridge between Lancaster and Middlesex counties should anticipate a brief 10-15 minute delay at 7 a.m. on Tuesday, Feb. 14.

Route 3 will be reduced to one lane on Norris Bridge between 7 a.m. and 5 p.m. Tuesday. Work will begin one hour earlier tomorrow to avoid delays during the peak morning travel period.

Motorists can expect delays of 10-15 minutes around 7 a.m. as workers set up the work zone and temporary traffic control equipment. Once this equipment is in place, motorists can anticipate delays of approximately 5 minutes for the remainder of the day through 5 p.m.

On Tuesday, the project contractor will continue to install netting on the bridge that will encourage Peregrine falcons to nest outside of the project work zone. The $12.8 million maintenance project will paint the three center bridge spans.

On Wednesday, pavement markings on the bridge will be brightened with fresh paint.

Norris Bridge traffic will be reduced to one lane on the following schedule:

Tuesday, Feb. 14

  • 7 a.m. – 5 p.m.

Wednesday, February 15

  • 11 a.m. – 3 p.m. This will be a mobile work zone, with intermittent single lane closures.

Norris Bridge Painting Project

Cleaning and painting the bridge’s center spans will protect its structural steel elements and prevent deterioration and corrosion.

This project will complete a full painting of the Norris Bridge spans. Additional spans were cleaned and painted between 2009-2012.

Additional information on the painting project is available online at the project page on


Real-time information on the bridge work zone and lane closures will be available on 511Virginia.

Download the  free mobile 511 app for Apple and Android devices to stay connected, or visit Motorists also can reach 511Virginia by calling 511 from any phone in Virginia.


VDOT’s 14-county Fredericksburg District includes the counties of Caroline, King George, Spotsylvania and Stafford in the Fredericksburg area; Northumberland, Richmond, Lancaster and Westmoreland counties in the Northern Neck; Essex, Gloucester, King & Queen, King William, Mathews and Middlesex counties in the Middle Peninsula.



Information in VDOT news releases was accurate at the time the release was published. For the most current information about projects or programs, please visit the project or program Web pages. You may find those by searching by keyword in the search Virginia DOT box above.

Page last modified: Feb. 13, 2017