VDOT's Organization

The Virginia Department of Transportation (VDOT) employs about 7,800 people full time, compared to 10,380 at the close of Fiscal Year 2001.

The agency has nine highway districts:

The districts are divided into 31 residencies, responsible for one to four counties each. 

The VDOT Central Office is in Richmond.

The Commonwealth Transportation Board guides the department's work, much like a board of directors.

The Secretary of Transportation serves as chairman.

The 17 board members are appointed by the governor and approved by the General Assembly.

The director of the Department of Rail and Public Transportation also serves as a non-voting member.

Meetings are usually held monthly and are open to the public.

Commissioner's staff
Organization chart with divisions PDF
Organization guide PDF

Jump to:


Page last modified: July 28, 2023